Statement 2017

So, nothing is clear; everything is hidden,
to be absurd is the task;
Is there a name for this?
It’s a question of style!

Normal

As a libertarian agent in cognitive issues and system lab assistant according to Proudhon, Godwin and Ward (-> see also Gibson and Barlow), I treat as a standard answer the phrase of Oscar Wilde: “Blessed are they who have nothing to say, and who cannot be persuaded to say it.” Of course, I have to accept that for myself as well.

The fact that I am not keeping my mouth shut means that I have something to say. If that’s true, I do not want to yell at my counterpart. I want to lead him (you) into a room where there is whispering, nothing concrete spoken and credible, where even lies and deception occur without irony. And you should see it. I want to create little icons with a twist, with double or ambiguous messages, if any, maybe just the title of my pictures. You should not only have to think about them – you have to. The pictures may also contain humor, but it must taste stale. And it should seem relevant to the viewer, yes even important.
In an effort to bring that to the point, I came across a notion that hits:

Hypernormal

Hypernormality can be either the never existing, infinitely ambiguous mediocrity or a captive parallel world. This is derived associatively. So hypernormality is e.g. a social aspect of communist politics in the Soviet Union and other communist states of the 70s and 80s, describing an irrational state of knowledge about and behavior in just these societies, fake society.

There are medical aspects: “It has been noticed that psychosomatic patients are socially very “adapted”, which has also been described as “hypernormality.” Their object relations are related to the real presence of the partner, and radiate a peculiar “relationship blank.” Due to the lack of differentiation of the psychic structure, these patients are not in a position to make permanent inductions, and they are dependent on the concrete and objective availability of the object.” (Walter Bräutigam, Paul Christian, Michael von Rad, 2010, Psychosomatic Medicine)

“Hypernormality would name a tendency in which the imperative of ongoing self-optimization as self-surpassing leads to the subject being able to fulfill the upper exceptional standards that have become the norm only through interventions on the body and psyche (psychotropic drugs).” (Michael Cuntz 2007, after Baudrillard).

If one uses now for the determination instead of the association the bisoziation then other different areas come to bear, such as culturally relevant: “Hypernormality is in literary terms normality aspects to break through and to extend the limits of the normal further in the direction of excellence.” (Silke Horstkotte, Leonhard Herrmann 2000, Contemporary Poetics)

Adam Curtis explains in his BBC movie essay “HyperNormalization” the post-factic era and a broader aspect of this state. (Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fny99f8amM)

Intelligence and creativity are compellingly compulsory together, even if it results in an anarchistic worldview. There is a lurking danger of being caught in your own claim. Hypernormality applies in times of [before | as an indicator of] a system change[s].

As an artist, it is more difficult and more complicated to formalize the above in pictures than in a text. It would be pretty easy to write down but not to paint. I want to try. I have not found myself yet, perhaps thats a way. In the Meaning of hypernormal, my pictures are not realistic, they are normal, hypernormal; do not trust them.

Jens H. Westermann, 2017.

Share:  Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedintumblrmail    Follow:  Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedinyoutubeinstagram

Aussage 2017

Jens H. WestermannNichts ist also klar; alles ist verdeckt,
absurd sein lautet die Devise;
Gibt es dafür nicht einen Namen?
Eine kleine Stilfrage!

Normal

Als libertärer Erkenntnisagent und Systemlaborant nach Proudhon, Godwin und Ward (–> beachte auch Gibson und Barlow) pflege ich als Standardantwort den Satz von Oscar Wilde: „Gesegnet seien jene, die nichts zu sagen haben und den Mund halten.“ Das muss ich freilich auch für mich gelten lassen.

Die Tatsache allein, dass ich nicht den Mund halte, soll im Modus tollens bedeuten, dass ich etwas zu sagen habe. Sollte das zutreffen, möchte ich mein Gegenüber aber nicht anbrüllen. Ich möchte ihn (Sie) in einen Raum führen, in dem geflüstert, nichts Konkretes gesprochen und kaum Glaubwürdiges dargelegt wird, wo sogar Lüge und Betrug ganz ohne Ironie auftreten. Und Sie sollen es sehen. Ich will kleine Symbole mit einen Twist schaffen, mit doppel- oder mehrdeutige Botschaften, wenn überhaupt, vielleicht auch nur über den Titel meiner Bilder. Man soll nicht nur sondern muss darüber nachdenken. Die Bilder dürfen auch Humor enthalten, der muss allerdings schal schmecken. Und es soll dem Betrachter doch relevant vorkommen, ja wichtig sogar.

Bei der Bemühung, das auf einen Punkt zu bringen, bin ich auf einen Begriff gestoßen, der trifft:

Hypernormal

Hypernormalität kann das nie existierende, unbegrenzt vieldeutige Mittelmaß oder eine gefangen nehmende Parallelwelt, sein. Das ist assoziativ abgeleitet. So ist Hypernormalität z.B. ein gesellschaftlicher Aspekt kommunistischer Politik in der Sowjetunion und anderen kommunistischen Staaten der 70er und 80er Jahre gewesen und beschreibt einen irrationalen Zustand des Wissen über und des eigenen Verhaltens in eben diesen Gesellschaften, Fake-Gesellschaft.

Es gibt medizinische Aspekte: „Es ist aufgefallen, dass psychosomatische Patienten gesellschaftlich sehr „angepasst“ sind, was auch als „Hypernormalität“ beschrieben worden ist. Ihre Objektbeziehungen sind auf die Realpräsenz des Partners bezogen, und strahlen eine eigentümliche „Beziehungsleere“ aus. Aufgrund mangelnder Ausdifferenzierung der psychischen Struktur seien diese Patienten nicht in der Lage, bleibende Indifikationen vorzunehmen; sie bleiben auf die konkret-gegenständliche Verfügbarkeit des Objektes angewiesen.“ (Walter Bräutigam, Paul Christian, Michael von Rad, 2010, Psychosomatische Medizin)

„Hypernormalität würde eine Tendenz benennen, in welcher der Imperativ der andauernden Selbst-Optimierung als Selbst-Überbietung dazu führt, dass das Subjekt nur durch Eingriffe an Körper und Psyche (Psychopharmaka) in der Lage ist, die zur Regel gewordenen oberen Ausnahmestandards zu erfüllen.“ (Michael Cuntz 2007, nach Baudrillard).

Nutzt man nun zur Bestimmung statt der Assoziation die Bisoziation kommen weitere unterschiedliche Bereiche zum Tragen, etwa kulturrelevante: „Hypernormalität ist in literarischer Hinsicht Normalitätsaspekte zu durchbrechen und die Grenzen des Normalen weiter in Richtung Überbietung auszudehnen.“ (Silke Horstkotte, Leonhard Herrmann 2000, Poetiken der Gegenwart)

Adam Curtis erklärt in seinem sehenswerten BBC-Filmessay „HyperNormalisation“ die postfaktische Ära und einen weiterreichenden Aspekt dieses Zustands. (Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fny99f8amM)

Intelligenz und Kreativität gehören nachgewiesener maßen zwingend zusammen, auch wenn daraus eine anarchistische Weltanschauungen entspringt. Es lauert die Gefahr, Gefangen zu sein im eigenen Anspruch. Hypernormalität gilt in Zeiten des [vor einem | als Indikator für einen] Systemwechsel[s].

Als bildender Künstler ist es schwierig und aufwendig, obiges in Bildern zu formalisieren. Sprachlich wäre es doch recht einfach nieder zuschreiben. Ich will mich bemühen, noch habe ich mich nicht gefunden, vielleicht ist das ein Weg. Im o.g. Sinne sind meine Bilder also nicht realistisch sondern normal, hypernormal; trauen sie ihnen nicht.

Jens H. Westermann, 2017.

Share:  Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedintumblrmail    Follow:  Facebooktwittergoogle_pluspinterestlinkedinyoutubeinstagram